Installing for Multiple Users

Monday, April 5th, 2010

This post describes how to install Design Master HVAC, Electrical, or Plumbing for multiple users. It applies to both multiple single-user licenses and to floating licenses.

Install Design Master on the Network

The software should be installed on a network folder that all users in the company have access to. If you are installing more than one of our programs, they should all be installed to the same location. You do not want to install the programs to separate folders.

Download the latest installer from these links:

Install Components Once on Each Computer

Each computer that is going to run the software needs to have the components installed on it once. All three of our programs use the same components.

If an update ever requires that this be reinstalled, we will make that clear. Otherwise, you can assume that you do not need to reinstall it when you install an update to our software.

It does not need to be reinstalled if you install a new version of AutoCAD.

Download the component installer from this link:

Configure AutoCAD on Each Computer

Each computer that is to run the software needs to have AutoCAD configured. If you have multiple versions of AutoCAD on your computer, this needs to be done for each version of AutoCAD.

If you are using BricsCAD, see the instructions below.

To configure AutoCAD:

  1. Open the “install.dwg” file in the “Admin” folder where Design Master is installed.
  2. Type APPLOAD at the command line.
  3. Browse to the “Admin” folder.
  4. Select the VLX file that corresponds to the program you are loading and press the “Load” button.
    • HVAC: hvac-loadInAutoCAD.vlx
    • Electrical: elec-loadInAutoCAD.vlx
    • Plumbing: plumb-loadInAutoCAD.vlx
  5. Press the “Close” button.
  6. Press the “Network” or “Network Laptop” button.
    • Network: Use this when the computer is a desktop connected to the network. The customization files will always be located on the server.
    • Network Laptop: Use this when the computer is a laptop that is disconnected from the network at times. The customization will load from the server when connected to the network and from the local computer when not connected.
  7. The folders should all be set correctly. Press the “Ok” button to finish the configuration.
  8. License Installation: On the first computer, the first time you load Design Master, you will be asked if you want to install your license file. Press the “Yes” button, then select the license ZIP file we previously emailed to you.

Configure BricsCAD on Each Computer

Each computer that is to run the software needs to have BricsCAD configured.

If you are using AutoCAD, see the instructions above.

To configure BricsCAD:

  1. Open the “install.dwg” file in the “Admin” folder where Design Master is installed.
  2. Type APPLOAD at the command line.
  3. Press the “Add” button.
  4. Select the DES file that corresponds to the program you are loading.
    • HVAC: hvac-loadInAutoCAD.des
    • Electrical: elec-loadInAutoCAD.des
    • Plumbing: plumb-loadInAutoCAD.des
  5. Press the “Open” button.
  6. Press the “Load” button.
  7. Press the “Network” or “Network Laptop” button.
    • Network: Use this when the computer is a desktop connected to the network. The customization files will always be located on the server.
    • Network Laptop: Use this when the computer is a laptop that is disconnected from the network at times. The customization will load from the server when connected to the network and from the local computer when not connected.
  8. The folders should all be set correctly. Press the “Ok” button to finish the configuration.
  9. License Installation: On the first computer, the first time you load Design Master, you will be asked if you want to install your license file. Press the “Yes” button, then select the license ZIP file we previously emailed to you.

Fixing an Incorrect AutoCAD Configuration

If the software is configured incorrectly and needs to be fixed, it is simplest to remove it from AutoCAD and then put it back.

  1. Type APPLOAD at the command line.
  2. Browse to the “Admin” folder where Design Master is installed.
  3. Select the “dm-unloadFromAutoCAD.vlx” file and press the “Load” button.
  4. Press the “Close” button.
  5. Restart AutoCAD and confirm that Design Master is not being loaded.
  6. Configure AutoCAD as described above.

Fixing an Incorrect BricsCAD Configuration

If the software is configured incorrectly and needs to be fixed, it is simplest to remove it from BricsCAD and then put it back.

  1. Type APPLOAD at the command line.
  2. Press the “Add” button.
  3. Browse to the “Admin” folder where Design Master is installed.
  4. Select the “dm-unloadFromAutoCAD.des” file.
  5. Press the “Open” button.
  6. Press the “Load” button.
  7. Restart BricsCAD and confirm that Design Master is not being loaded.
  8. Configure BricsCAD as described above.

Saving Local Customization

If you are transitioning from a local install to a network install, you will want to save the changes you made to the customization. To do this, copy all the files from the customization folders from the local drive to the network.

Installing a New License File

Each year, we will send you a new license file when you renew your subscription to Design Master. To install the license file, go to DM HVAC/Electrical/Plumbing->Help->Install License. Select the ZIP file that we sent to you. It will automatically be extracted to the correct location.

The license can be updated while people are using Design Master.

The next time a user opens a drawing in AutoCAD or BricsCAD, Design Master will be update their local license automatically. They will be prompted to restart AutoCAD or BricsCAD.

Installing Updates

To install an update to the software, download the installer using the links in the “Installing Design Master on the Network” section. Run the installer and install it to the same location on the network.

When installing an update, it is necessary to update all three programs at the same time. You do not want to update one program and not the others.

It is necessary to have AutoCAD or BricsCAD closed on the computer you run the installer on. You do not need to close AutoCAD or BricsCAD on the other computers with our software installed.

The next time a user opens a drawing in AutoCAD, Design Master will be updated automatically. They will be prompted to restart AutoCAD if necessary.

None of your existing customization will be overwritten during the update process.

Leave a Reply